Ethics Rapporteur Programme

The Ethics Rapporteurs are vital to the ethics governance of the Human Brain Project. Together, they identify, address and provide an overview of emerging social and ethical questions raised by research in the Project. 

The Ethics Rapporteur Programme is contributing to an overall uptake of principles and practices of responsible research and innovation (RRI) across the HBP. The Ethics Rapporteurs have monthly meetings and communicate regularly with the Ethics Advisory Board members and the HBP Ethics Coordination team. Joint meetings between the three bodies are held periodically.

The Ethics Rapporteur Programme and its Work Package and Ethics Advisory Board participants identify and discuss emergent ethical and social questions that arise from scientific or other activities of the HBP. Those questions are systematised periodically in the so-called "One-pager Compilation Report on Ethical Issues", which gives an ongoing high-level overview of the ethics and social-related questions of the HBP. Participants may choose to register ethical, regulatory, or social issues in the Point of Registration (PORE), ensuring the issues can be followed through to a result or disposition.

Ethics Rapporteurs

Academics, scientists, technologists and administrators in senior and junior positions across the HBP, each with their unique skillset, take on the role of Ethics Rapporteur. 

Ethics Rapporteurs Programme Lead

Manuel Guerrero

Centre for Research Ethics & Bioethics, Uppsala University

manuel.guerrero@crb.uu.se

 



Ethics Rapporteurs for WP1

Douglas Armstrong

University of Edinburgh

douglas.armstrong@ed.ac.uk

 

Mallory Carlu

Institut NeuroPSI, CNRS Université Paris-Saclay Gif-Sur-Yvette

mallory.carlu@cnrs.fr

 

Damien Depannmaecker

Institut NeuroPSI, CNRS Université Paris-Saclay Gif-Sur-Yvette

damien.depannemaecker@cnrs.fr

 



Ethics Rapporteurs for WP2

Michele Farisco

Centre for Research Ethics & Bioethics, Uppsala University

michele.farisco@crb.uu.se

 

Jitka Annen

GIGA Consciousness - University of Liège 

jitka.annen@uliege.be

 

Patricia Carvajal

Institut d’Investigacions Biomèdiques August Pi i Sunyer 

pkcarvajal@clinic.cat

 

Theofanis Panagiotaropoulos

Cognitive Neuroimaging Unit, CEA, INSERM

theofanis.panagiotaropoulos@cea.fr

 

Wim Vanduffel

KU Leuven

wim.vanduffel@med.kuleuven.be



Ethics Rapporteurs for WP3

Antonia Leach

De Montfort University

antonia.leach@dmu.ac.uk

 



Ethics Rapporteurs for WP4

Birgit Schauffhauser

Centre Hospitalier Vaudois

Birgit.Schaffhauser@chuv.ch

 

Samira Najih Besson

Centre Hospitalier Vaudois

Samira.Najih-Besson@chuv.ch

 



Ethics Rapporteurs for WP5

Francesca Cavallaro

Technical University of Munich

cavallar@in.tum.de

 



Ethics Rapporteurs for WP6

Maren Frings

Jülich Supercomputing Centre, Forschungszentrum Jülich

m.frings@fz-juelich.de

 

Boris Orth

Jülich Supercomputing Centre, Forschungszentrum Jülich

b.orth@fz-juelich.de

 

Andrew Rowley

University of Manchester

Andrew.Rowley@manchester.ac.uk

 



Ethics Rapporteurs for WP7

 

 

 



Ethics Rapporteurs for WP8

Bárbara Gasset

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid 

barbara.gasset@upm.es

 

Judith Kathrein

Medizinische Universität Innsbruck

judith.kathrein@i-med.ac.at

 



Ethics Rapporteurs for WP9

George Ogoh

De Montfort University

george.ogoh@dmu.ac.uk

 



Anyone can request to address ethical, regulatory and social issues raised by HBP research.

Register an Ethical Concern

More Ethics & RRI 

The Human Brain Project will have an impact on both science and society.

We promote RRI practices within the HBP, and help to shape the direction of its research in ethically sound ways that serve the public interest. 

Learn about Ethics & RRI in the HBP!