Ethics Rapporteur Programme

 

The Ethics Rapporteur Programme is a vital component of the ethics governance of the Human Brain Project, which aims to identify, address and provide, collaboratively, a broad and general overview of emergent social and ethical questions that arise during the HBP, contributing to an overall uptake of principles and practices of responsible research and innovation (RRI) across the HBP.

The HBP Ethics Rapporteur is an academic, a scientist, a technologist or an administrator engaged in the HBP work. Ethics Rapporteurs include senior and junior members, each possessing a unique set of science, technology, and ethics competencies.

Ethics Rapporteurs have monthly meetings and communicate regularly with the Ethics Advisory Board members and the HBP Ethics Coordination team. Joint meetings between the three bodies are held periodically.

The Ethics Rapporteur Programme and its Work package and Ethics Advisory Board participants identify and discuss emergent ethical and social questions that arise from scientific or other activity of the HBP. Those questions are systematised periodically in the so-called "One-pager Compilation Report on Ethical Issues", which gives an ongoing high-level overview of the ethics and social-related questions of the HBP. Participants may choose to register ethical, regulatory, or social issues in the Point of Registration (PORE), ensuring the issues can be followed through to a result or disposition.

If you have a question concerning the ethical, social or regulatory issues of a particular Work package, you may contact one or more of the representative Ethics Rapporteurs, who are listed below. You can also contact Manuel Guerrero, who is the Ethics Rapporteur Programme lead.

If you would like to read further about the Ethics Rapporteur Programme, you can find more information here.

 

Human Brain Project’s Ethics Rapporteurs

 

Work Package 1: The human multiscale brain connectome and its variability – from synapses to large-scale networks and function

 

Douglas Armstrong. University of Edinburgh - EUDIN / UNITED KINGDOM

douglas.armstrong@ed.ac.uk

 

Mallory Carlu. Institut NeuroPSI, CNRS Université Paris-Saclay
Gif-Sur-Yvette
/ FRANCE

mallory.carlu@cnrs.fr

 

Damien Depannmaecker. Institut NeuroPSI, CNRS Université Paris-Saclay
Gif-Sur-Yvette/ FRANCE

damien.depannemaecker@cnrs.fr

 

Arleen Salles. Centre for Research Ethics & Bioethics (CRB) - Uppsala University / SWEDEN

arleen.salles@crb.uu.se

 

Work Package 2: Networks underlying brain cognition and consciousness

 

Conrado Bosman. University of Amsterdam - UvA / THE NETHERLANDS

C.A.BosmanVittini@uva.nl

 

Athena Demertzi. University of Liège / BELGIUM

a.demertzi@uliege.be

 

Work Package 3: Adaptive networks for cognitive architectures: from advanced learning to neurorobotics and neuromorphic applications

 

Mihai Petrovici. Department of Physiology – UNIVERSITY OF BERN / SWITZERLAND

mihai.petrovici@unibe.ch

 

Work Package 4: EBRAINS Data Services
 

Erika Borcel. Centre Hospitalier Vaudois- CHUV / SWITZERLAND

Erika.Borcel@chuv.ch

 

Wim Vanduffel. KU Leuven - LEUVEN / BELGIUM

wim.vanduffel@med.kuleuven.be

 

Work Package 5: EBRAINS Modelling Services

 

Francesca Cavallaro. Technical University of Munich -TUM / GERMANY

cavallar@in.tum.de

 

Work Package 6: EBRAINS Computing Services

 

Maren Frings. Jülich Supercomputing Centre, Forschungszentrum Jülich / GERMANY

m.frings@fz-juelich.de

 

Boris Orth. Jülich Supercomputing Centre, Forschungszentrum Jülich / GERMANY

b.orth@fz-juelich.de

 

Andrew Rowley. University of Manchester - UMAN / UNITED KINGDOM

Andrew.Rowley@manchester.ac.uk

 

Work Package 7: Management and Coordination

 

Florent Gaillard. Ecole polytechnique de Lausanne - EPFL / SWITZERLAND

florent.gaillard@epfl.ch

 

Work Package 8: Communication, Outreach and Exploitation

 

Barbara Gasset. Universidad Politécnica de Madrid – UPM / SPAIN

barbara.gasset@upm.es

 

Judith Kathrein. Medizinische Universität Innsbruck – IMED / AUSTRIA

judith.kathrein@i-med.ac.at

 

Julia Quintero. Medizinische Universität Innsbruck – IMED / AUSTRIA

Julia.Quintero@i-med.ac.at

 

Work Package 9 - Responsible Research and Innovation

 

George Ogoh. De Montfort University / UK

george.ogoh@dmu.ac.uk

 

Manuel Guerrero. Centre for Research Ethics & Bioethics (CRB) - Uppsala University / SWEDEN

manuel.guerrero@crb.uu.se