Ethics Rapporteur Programme

 

The Ethics Rapporteur Programme is a vital component of the ethics governance of the Human Brain Project, which aims to identify, address and provide, collaboratively, a broad and general overview of emergent social and ethical questions that arise during the HBP, contributing to an overall uptake of principles and practices of responsible research and innovation (RRI) across the HBP.

The HBP Ethics Rapporteur is an academic, a scientist, a technologist or an administrator engaged in the HBP work. Ethics Rapporteurs include senior and junior members, each possessing a unique set of science, technology, and ethics competencies.

Ethics Rapporteurs have monthly meetings and communicate regularly with the Ethics Advisory Board members and the HBP Ethics Coordination team. Joint meetings between the three bodies are held periodically.

The Ethics Rapporteur Programme and its Work package and Ethics Advisory Board participants identify and discuss emergent ethical and social questions that arise from scientific or other activity of the HBP. Those questions are systematised periodically in the so-called "One-pager Compilation Report on Ethical Issues", which gives an ongoing high-level overview of the ethics and social-related questions of the HBP. Participants may choose to register ethical, regulatory, or social issues in the Point of Registration (PORE), ensuring the issues can be followed through to a result or disposition.

If you have a question concerning the ethical, social or regulatory issues of a particular Work package, you may contact one or more of the representative Ethics Rapporteurs, who are listed below. You can also contact Manuel Guerrero, who is the Ethics Rapporteur Programme lead.

If you would like to read further about the Ethics Rapporteur Programme, you can find more information here.

 

Human Brain Project’s Ethics Rapporteurs

 

Work Package 1: The human multiscale brain connectome and its variability – from synapses to large-scale networks and function

 

Douglas Armstrong

 

Douglas Armstrong

University of Edinburgh 

douglas.armstrong@ed.ac.uk

 

Mallory Carlu

 

Mallory Carlu

Institut NeuroPSI, CNRS Université Paris-Saclay Gif-Sur-Yvette

mallory.carlu@cnrs.fr

 

Damien Depannmaecker

 

Damien Depannmaecker

Institut NeuroPSI, CNRS Université Paris-Saclay Gif-Sur-Yvette

damien.depannemaecker@cnrs.fr

 

Arleen Salles

 

Arleen Salles

Centre for Research Ethics & Bioethics, Uppsala University

arleen.salles@crb.uu.se

 

Work Package 2: Networks underlying brain cognition and consciousness

 

Michele Farisco

 

Michele Farisco

Centre for Research Ethics & Bioethics, Uppsala University

michele.farisco@crb.uu.se

 

Jitka Annen

 

Jitka Annen

GIGA Consciousness - University of Liège 

jitka.annen@uliege.be
 

 

Patricia Carvajal

 

Patricia Carvajal

Institut d’Investigacions Biomèdiques August Pi i Sunyer 

pkcarvajal@clinic.cat
 

 

 

Theofanis Panagiotaropoulos

Cognitive Neuroimaging Unit, CEA, INSERM, Université Paris-Sud, Université Paris-Saclay, Gif-Yvette

theofanis.panagiotaropoulos@cea.fr

 

Wim Vanduffel

 

Wim Vanduffel

KU Leuven

wim.vanduffel@med.kuleuven.be

 

Work Package 3: Adaptive networks for cognitive architectures: from advanced learning to neurorobotics and neuromorphic applications

 

 

Antonia Leach

De Montfort University

antonia.leach@dmu.ac.uk

 

Work Package 4: EBRAINS Data Services

 

 

Erika Borcel

Centre Hospitalier Vaudois

Erika.Borcel@chuv.ch

 

Wim Vanduffel

 

Wim Vanduffel

KU Leuven

wim.vanduffel@med.kuleuven.be

 

Work Package 5: EBRAINS Modeling Services

 

 

Francesca Cavallaro

Technical University of Munich

cavallar@in.tum.de

 

Work Package 6: EBRAINS Computing Services

 

 

Maren Frings

Jülich Supercomputing Centre, Forschungszentrum Jülich

m.frings@fz-juelich.de

 

 

Boris Orth

Jülich Supercomputing Centre, Forschungszentrum Jülich

b.orth@fz-juelich.de

 

 

Andrew Rowley

University of Manchester

Andrew.Rowley@manchester.ac.uk

 

Work Package 7: Management and Coordination

 

 

Florent Gaillard

Ecole polytechnique de Lausanne (EPFL)

florent.gaillard@epfl.ch

 

Work Package 8: Communication, Outreach and Exploitation

 

 

Barbara Gasset

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid 

barbara.gasset@upm.es

 

Judith Kathrein

 

Judith Kathrein

Medizinische Universität Innsbruck

judith.kathrein@i-med.ac.at

 

Work Package 9: Responsible Research and Innovation

 

George Ogoh

 

George Ogoh

De Montfort University

george.ogoh@dmu.ac.uk

 

Manuel Guerrero

 

Manuel Guerrero

Centre for Research Ethics & Bioethics, Uppsala University

manuel.guerrero@crb.uu.se