June 23, 2020

New Members in HBP’s Advisory Board


The Human Brain Project is pleased to announce that four new members have joined its Scientific and Infrastructure Advisory Board. Gitte Moos Knudsen will continue in her role as Chairwoman of the Board.

The Science and Infrastructure Advisory Board (SIAB) is an independent body that advises the HBP on all issues of scientific, technical, and clinical importance for the aim and objectives of the HBP.

The new SIAB members include Rosanne Edelenbosch, Cathrin Stöver, Mark Parsons, and Carlo Rizzuto.

Gitte Moos Knudsen is a Danish translational neurobiologist and clinical neurologist, and Clinical Professor at the Department of Neurology and Neurobiology Research Unit at Copenhagen University Hospital. Her main area of research is the neurobiology of neurotransmission, with particular emphasis on multimodality brain imaging and neuropharmacology.

Rosanne Edelenbosch has been working as a researcher at the Rathenau Instituut in The Hague since 2016. Her work focuses on Responsible Research and Innovation, and she is involved in several research areas including digitalization, brain science, and health care.

Cathrin Stöver is CCO of GÉANT, a pan-European data and communication network for Europe's education and research community. She brings more than 20 years of experience working in global telecommunications and the roll-out of network infrastructures to the SIAB.

Mark Parsons is the Director of EPCC, the supercomputing centre at The University of Edinburgh. His research interests include high performance computing, highly distributed data intensive computing, and novel hardware design.

Carlo Rizzuto is the Chair of the General Assembly, CERIC-ERIC (Central European Research Infrastructure Consortium). His scientific interests lie in low temperature Physics, superconductivity, magnetism and Material Sciences and their applications in industry.

See what the members have said about being part of the Human Brain Project’s SIAB:


The full list of SIAB members is shown below:

  • Gitte Moos Knudsen, SIAB Chair
  • Rosanne Edelenbosch
  • Giacomo Indiveri
  • Mark Parsons
  • Carlo Rizzuto
  • Kathleen Rockland
  • Barbara Sahakian
  • Wolf Singer
  • Cathrin Stöver
  • Arthur Toga
  • Christoph von der Malsburg

As building a sustainable Research Infrastructure for Brain Research is at the heart of the HBP, the SIAB also advises on the development of the research infrastructure EBRAINS (ebrains.eu), user engagement, and embedding HBP in the international neuroscience landscape, which will be key as the project moves into its final phase (2020-2023).

You can learn more about the Scientific and Infrastructure Advisory Board here.