From Cortical Microcircuits to Consciousness

11-13 April 2022 | Institut Catholique de Paris, France

Download the scientific programme brochure 2.3 MB

The Symposium: From Cortical Microcircuits to Consciousness aimed at bringing together the Human Brain Project’s neuroscientists and invited guests to present their latest achievements in understanding neurocircuit dynamics at microscales, meso- and macro-scales, including the emergence of consciousness. Theories of consciousness were reviewed and challenged by new findings from brain circuits and behavior. The involvement of neuronal and neuroglial cells in brain functioning, memory, learning, cognition and consciousness in health and disease were discussed from the experimental and theoretical perspective.

The Symposium offered a hands-on session on The Virtual Brain, the platform of EBRAINS for constructing and simulating personalised brain network models. EBRAINS is the European research infrastructure for gathering, processing and simulating brain data.

Finally, the Symposium addressed the recent advances in neuroethics and neurophilosophy in neuroscience research and society.


Picture Gallery

Confirmed Speakers

Katrin Amunts | Human Brain Project Scientific Research Director
Jitka Annen | University of Liège, Belgium
Melanie Boly | University of Wisconsin, USA
Stanislas Dehaene | Collège de France, France 
Alain Destexhe | Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, France 
Kathinka Evers | Uppsala University, Sweden
Wulfram Gerstner | Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Jeanette Hellgren-Kotaleski | KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Viktor Jirsa | Aix-Marseille University, France
Christof Koch | Allen Institute for Brain Sciences, USA
Matthew Larkum | Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany
Steven Laureys | University of Liège, Belgium
Marja-Leena Linne | Tampere University, Finland
Marcello Massimini | University of Milan, Italy
Lucia Melloni | Max Planck Institute for Empirical Aesthetics, Germany
Michele Migliore | Institute of Biophysics, Italian National Research Council, Italy
Lars Muckli | University of Glasgow, UK
Theofanis Panagiotaropoulos | Paris-Saclay University, NeuroSpin, France
Cyriel Pennartz | University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Panayiota Poirazi | Institute of Molecular Biology & Biotechnology, Greece
Petra Ritter | Charité University Medicine Berlin, Germany
Clay Reid | Allen Institute for Brain Sciences, USA
Pieter Roelfsema | Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience, The Netherlands
Ausra Saudargiene | Lithuanian University of Health Sciences, Lithuania
Walter Senn | University of Bern, Switzerland
Johan Storm | Institute of Basic Medical Sciences, University of Oslo, Norway
Christopher Summerfield | University of Oxford, UK
Marmaduke Woodman | Aix-Marseille University, France

Scientific Committee


Walter Senn
 | University of Bern
Alain Destexhe | Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique 

Scientific Committee Members:

Viktor Jirsa | Aix-Marseille University
Marja-Leena Linne | Tampere University
Michele Migliore | Italian National Research Council
Aušra Saudargienė | Lithuanian University of Health Sciences


Institut Catholique de Paris 
21 Rue d'Assas
75006 Paris